Trevor Noah and P-Square among winners, Ne-yo performs at MTV Africa Music awards

Stars of the African and international music scene celebrate their success at the fifth annual MTV Africa Music Awards.

DURBAN, SOUTH AFRICA (JULY 18, 2015) (MTV BASE) – P-Square were the big winners at one of the most important nights for African music on Saturday (July 18) at the fifth annual MTV Africa Music Awards in Durban.

The Nigerian duo of Peter and Paul Okoye scooped two prizes on the night, taking away awards for Best Group and the coveted Artist of the Decade trophy, which recognised their many years at the top of African music.

“This award is for everybody, especially the up and coming artists. If you want to stay around in this game, make sure you bring out your best. God bless you, god bless you,” said Peter Okoye on receiving the Artist of the Decade award.

It was a strong night for Nigerian musicians, with Davido taking Best Male and Yemi Alade taking best female, dedicating the award to her family.

“I dedicate this award to my beautiful mom who is probably watching and my sisters,” she said.

Another winner was the South African comedian Trevor Noah, the new host of the Daily Show, who scooped Personality of the Year.

South Africa’s Cassper Nyovest won Best Hip Hop artist, while the best song gong went to Dorobucci by the Mavins.