Racism has relegated La Liga to EPL

May, 23 2023 — La Liga, officially known as LaLiga Santander for sponsorship reasons, is the men’s top professional football division of the Spanish football league system. Administered by the Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional, it is contested by 20 teams, with the three lowest-placed teams at the end of each season being relegated to the Segunda División and replaced by the top two teams and a play-off winner in that division.

Since its inception in 1929, a total of 62 teams have competed in La Liga. Nine teams have been crowned champions, with Barcelona winning the inaugural La Liga and Real Madrid winning the title a record 35 times, most recently in the 2021–22 season. During the 1940s Valencia, Atlético Madrid and Barcelona emerged as the strongest clubs, winning several titles. Real Madrid and Barcelona dominated the championship in the 1950s, each winning four La Liga titles during the decade. During the 1960s and 1970s, Real Madrid dominated La Liga, winning fourteen titles, with Atlético Madrid winning four.

In recent years, La Liga has become one of the most competitive leagues in the world, with Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid all competing for the title. The league has also become a major destination for some of the world’s best players, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Neymar and Luis Suárez.

The 2022–23 La Liga season is currently underway, with Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atlético Madrid all vying for the title. The season will end on May 22, 2023.

Here are the 20 teams competing in La Liga 2022-2023:

  • Athletic Bilbao
  • Atlético Madrid
  • Barcelona
  • Celta Vigo
  • Real Betis
  • Cádiz
  • Elche
  • Espanyol
  • Getafe
  • Granada
  • Levante
  • Real Madrid
  • Real Sociedad
  • Sevilla
  • Valencia
  • Villarreal
  • Real Mallorca
  • Osasuna
  • Alavés
Search related topics